FAQs & How to use this site
Home | About Us | Contact Us
The Front Line
The Front Line: Charles D. Blanke, MD, SWOG Chair


Welcoming Dr. Jonathan Friedberg as Lymphoma Committee Chair

Mar 28, 2014 - I'm very pleased to announce that Dr. Jonathan W. Friedberg has accepted my offer to become the next Chair of SWOG's Lymphoma Committee, taking the reins from Dr. Richard Fisher at the spring Group Meeting in San Francisco.

Dr. Friedberg has been an active member of SWOG since 2002. He currently serves as SWOG site PI for the University of Rochester. In addition to the many investigator-initiated studies he has led, Dr. Friedberg has also served as study chair or co-chair for a number of SWOG clinical trials, including S0433 and S0801, both of which added iodine-131 labeled tositumomab to R-CHOP for patients with advanced lymphoma, and S0816, which used FDG-PET imaging to adapt treatment course for Hodgkin lymphoma.

Dr. Friedberg is Director of the Wilmot Cancer Center at the University of Rochester, where he is Samuel Durand Professor of Medicine and Chief of Hematology/Oncology. He also directs the clinical trials core for the Lymphoma SPORE based at Rochester. He earned both an M.D. and an M.M.Sc. in Clinical Investigation from Harvard Medical School and completed residencies at Massachusetts General Hospital and fellowships at Dana-Farber and Harvard.

I would like to thank the Lymphoma Chair search committee, and its chair, Dr. Robert Orlowski, for their diligence in identifying several outstanding candidates for this critical role.

Please join me in wishing Dr. Friedberg success in charting a course for lymphoma research within SWOG and the NCTN for many years to come.

Related links


SWOG Logo Disclaimer | Copyright ©2000-2017 SWOG. All rights reserved.
Design by nuMedia Group Inc. | Hosting by WorldPost Technologies, Inc.
SWOG is FISMA CertifiedSWOG is FISMA Certified